The BPA was established in 2003, and its aim is to promote and foster the teaching and study of, and research in Philosophy in the United Kingdom, within higher education and also within the wider community. Its founding President was Professor Roger Trigg, who previously chaired the BPA’s predecessor, the National Committee for Philosophy, and who oversaw the transition to the BPA. Its current President is Professor Fiona Macpherson (University of Glasgow).

Since its inception, the BPA has sought to engage in constructive dialogue, on behalf of the philosophical community in the UK, with bodies such as the Arts and Humanities Research Council, the British Academy, the Quality Assurance Agency, the Assessment and Qualifications Alliance, and the Higher Education Academy.

The BPA is very grateful to all of its members for their support – whether individual teachers and researchers, institutional members, learned societies or even those simply with a keen interest in supporting philosophy in the UK. If you are not a member of the BPA and would like to join, please visit our Join page.

You can also read the BPA Constitution and a brief History of the BPA.

Executive Committee

Co-opted members (the Executive Committee is empowered to add up to 4
co-opted members to its number):

Executive Secretary

  • Katherine Young (Lancaster) – admin@bpa.ac.uk

Our departmental members

Latest News